Epic Windows 8?

A couple of posts ago, I mentioned that I had installed Windows 8. Now that I’ve played around with it (and now that I’ve got nothing else to post about), I decided that I might as well give my verdict.
In my opinion, I don’t think Windows 8 suits your average PC. While I’m certain that it will be perfect for tablet and touch screen PCs, it’s really not worth it for desktops/laptops quite yet. The interface looks beautiful, but I don’t think it works as well with a mouse as it does with your fingers.
I have to admit, the interface looks great. It looks very clean and modern, and seems to be easy to navigate (even though I had trouble finding the right settings to change my mouse sensitivity when I installed W8CP). The whole operating system is linked to your Windows Live ID. Like Windows Phone 7, I think that the OS is best suited for people who use Microsoft’s services like Xbox Live and Hotmail, as all the games (Solitaire and a very pretty Pinball game were pre-installed).
I’d say that Windows 8 tablets will eventually become more powerful than Apple’s iPad, as long as Microsoft keep the price fairly low. I’m not able to talk about any of the Zune services, as Zune isn’t available in Ireland yet. If your interested, you should install Windows 8 while dual-booting with your current OS, by creating a separate partition on your hard drive, as you have nothing to lose.
I’d like to take this opportunity to invite you to check out my friend John’s new YouTube channel. He’s currently uploading gameplays from Minecraft and Realm of the Mad God. He doesn’t have a microphone yet so there’s no commentary, but I think you should still check out his videos.
Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

