Music, Mocks and Christmas

I know I start pretty much every post like this, but it’s been a while since I’ve posted. The school blog seems to be at a sort of standstill at the moment, since nobody seems to be posting. I’ve been busy as well, with the Mocks coming up in January. I haven’t really had much of chance to post, and I also don’t have any subject to post about.

Anyway, I got off school on the 21st. I’m pretty relieved that I’m on my break, and that Christmas is on Tuesday! I’m not really in a festive mood, due to the fact I’ve been so busy. Maybe it’s just because I’m getting older, but it doesn’t seem like as big of a deal as it used to be.

As I mentioned earlier, the Mocks are on sometime in January. The Mocks are basically a practice of the Junior Cert; everything is treated like it’s the real thing. We have two papers in some subjects, like English, Maths, Business and Irish. I know that it doesn’t have any meaning whatsoever, but I’d like to have a bit prepared for it, and that’ll help me with the Junior Cert as well. I plan in spending a good bit of time studying over the break, since I’m not going to get a chance like this until Easter!

In non-school related news, I’ve found a band that I’m starting to like. They’re called Kodaline, and are a band from Dublin. I’ve listened to a few of their songs, and I love the way their music videos always seem to tell a story. The vocals also have a really unique sound that I really love. They remind me a bit of Mumford and Sons, but only a little. By far my favourite song of theirs is All I Want. It actually was the song played during the Google Zeitgeist 2012 video on YouTube. It’s a really good song and I love the music video.

If you like the sound of them, be sure to check them out on Soundcloud as well as their other videos on YouTube.

Anyway, I can’t think of anything else to say. It’s really not likely for me to post again bef0re the 25th, so I hope everyone has a great Christmas!

2 thoughts on “Music, Mocks and Christmas

  1. You have such a great blog going here, I feel bad not commenting as much as I should be! 🙂

    Anyway, I heard you got a Wii U for Christmas? Do you like it? I tried it at the electronics store the other day (Best Buy, do you have it there?) and it was really neat! I like the touchscreen controller – I can imagine Scribblenauts would be excellent on it! 🙂 Hope you had a great Christmas as well!

    And you’re doing Business? I think it’s a fascinating subject! Do you like it? 🙂 So many questions!

    • Hey Mayank! Thanks for the kind words about my blog, I really appreciate it! I’ve been neglecting it recently, and I should really post again soon. Sorry for the late reply, by the way. I had a lovely long reply typed out, but then the app crashed (which is quite a regular occurrence on my iPod!).

      Anyway, yeah, I got a Wii U for Christmas. I plan on talking about it in a future blog post, but I really love it. Miiverse is a great addition to every game, and Nintendo Land is incredible fun. I’ve heard of Best Buy before (I think they were/are in the UK), but they never came to Ireland. I think I read that Best Buy had the Rayman Legends demo, which I’m quite looking forward to. I hope you had a great Christmas too!

      Business is pretty good, I guess. It’s quite a long course. It’s the only subject outside of English, Irish and Maths that has two papers for the Junior Cert. I’ll probably keep on the Accountancy section of the course for the Leaving Cert, as I find it quite easy. Business as a whole requires a lot of repetitive learning, which I find quite boring.

      Anyway, thanks again for your comment. I appreciate comments so much, as they make me feel like people actually read my content, and it’s just me sitting alone in a corner talking to myself. I think I better give your blog a visit now too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

