PLAYSTATION 4 ERMAHGERD

PlayStation 4. Discuss.

See, there was a special #PlayStation2013 meeting back on Wednesday, when Sony was like “YO, HOMIES, WE GOT THAT PS4! ONLY WE DON’T ACTUALLY HAVE THE CONSOLE FOR ANYONE TO SEE, BUT… THE CONTROLLER HAS A TOUCHPAD!” As you might assume, I wasn’t entirely impressed. Maybe it’s just because I’m fanboy, but I didn’t find out exciting at all.

Well, let’s start from the beginning of the conference. One of the first things that Sony announced was that it has a PC-like architecture. That’s great for developers, as they will easily be able to design games for PS4 and PC at the same time. It’s a big difference from the PS3, that made developing games quite difficult. It’s also got 8GB of RAM, which is like sixteen times more than the PS3/Xbox 360. It’s also four times more than the Wii U, which isn’t really TOO bad. This difference (which isn’t too massive) will probably make ports possible, at least.

Then the controller.

ps4 controller

My opinion is that there’s something about it that looks a bit meh. I don’t like the darker circles around the d-pad and face buttons. I’m not sure about the analog sticks, but I’m sure they’ll be more comfortable than the current PlayStation analog sticks. The Share button seems like it could work out well (even though I’m not really sure what they’ll use it for) and the touchpad seems entirely useless at the moment, if I be completely honest.

Some of the other stuff is cool. I like how you can play games instantly before they download, and I’m interested in how Gaikai will work with it. The video sharing seems cool, but limited to 10 seconds. Video streaming seems great, especially how others can control your controller. I’m not a fan of the integration with Facebook, as I like to keep gaming separate from real life stuff. That’s why I’m such a big fan of Twitter and Miiverse.

Then they announced that there’s no backwards compatibility. All those PS3 games can’t be played, disc or download. It’s the same for downloadable Minis. This disappointed me, as when Sony has a big catalog of PS3 games, people who don’t own a PS4 might be more likely to buy a much cheaper PS3 with lots of cheap games, as well as PlayStation Plus. That’s probably what I’m going to do, to be honest. You will be able to stream PlayStation games from the past, but it’s likely that you’ll have to buy all the games again.

Speaking of games, we got to see a handful of them. (I might have missed some features, but I’ve got the main ones, I think.)

First of all, new Killzone. Hooray for more first person shooters!  The graphics were pretty great, but it seems like pretty standard FPS stuff. Never played the Killzone games so I can’t really talk. They did decide to put footage up for what seemed to last half an hour. It was just quite boring.

There were some other games, like inFamous, Knack, DriveClub, but they only thing that really interested me was Watch_Dogs, a game that’s coming to PS3, Xbox 360, PC and Wii U already. Not a great sign!

Anyway, that was pretty much it. While I’m sure (and I hope) Sony have some secrets up their sleeve, the conference was quite underwhelming overall. Sony hyped up the whole announcement with some teaser videos and even a (pretty cool) documentary talking about the past consoles, but it wasn’t that great overall.

Anyway, hope you enjoyed the post and can see how I feel about Sony’s next gen console. Check out some of my other posts, if you’re irking for more!

 

Leave a Reply

