Steam Summer Sale

It’s the time of the year that my wallet dreads the most. When all hell breaks loose, as prices are slashed more times than the bad guy in your average Samurai movie.

As someone who has been on Steam for about two years (back when Portal was offered for free), this may just be the first Steam Summer Sale. Equipped with improved broadband speeds and a new computer capable of running more games then ever before, I’m ready to get in on the action.

When I fired up Steam after hearing about the sale, I was overwhelmed, to say the least. BioShock Infinite half-price, reduced Half Life, Skyrim, Left 4 Dead… It was too much. There was no way I could choose.

Knowing me, I knew I’d probably end up buying games that I

  1. I won’t play
  2. I can’t run
  3. will be cheaper soon

To counter this, I’ve decided on some basic rules.

1) Wait until the end

No matter what the game is, I’m not buying it until the end of the sale. I know that there’s a possibility of it being even cheaper as a daily deal. If it’s a daily deal, however, that’s when I buy.

2) Stick to the wishlist

Before writing this post, I filled my wishlist with all the games that interest me. If it’s not on the list, I’m certainly going to think twice about purchasing it. (My wishlist isn’t finished yet, but it has a general idea of what I want.)

3) Stay on budget

I’ve given myself I nice round budget of €50. This is my absolute maximum. I’m not going to spend more than that. Because of this, I have to be careful what I buy. I’m going to try to stick to games that are under a tenner, but mainly only €5. This way I’ll get loads of great games without spending a fortune!

So there you have it! My three guidelines for the sale. So far, I’m most interested in games such as Scribblenauts Unlimited, BioShock and Left 4 Dead 2. I’m really looking forward to what else is being slashed before the 22nd!

I’ve decided to make a list of all the games I’ve bought so far, and their prices, etc.

  • The Walking Dead (€6.24)
  • Grand Theft Auto IV (€4.99)
  • Scribblenauts Unlimited (€4.74)
  • Left 4 Dead 2 (€4.99)
  • The Walking Dead (€4.99)
  • Assassin’s Creed II (€2.49)
  • Super Meat Boy (€3.49)
  • Mirror’s Edge (€2.99)
  • VVVVVV ()
  • McPixel (€0.79)

So, there you go! Finally! Nearly a month after I finished my exams, you have yet another lovely post. I’ve had quite a few scrap posts since my Random Access Memories review, as I want to keep a standard of interesting posts that I actually enjoy crafting.

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed this post! If you’re also taking part in the Steam Summer Sale, I’d love to know what you plan on picking up over the next few days. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

