Review: AM

AM is the new album by Arctic Monkeys. This is the first album that I like that I discovered straight through Spotify. I saw it floating on the top of the “Top Albums” list for a few weeks, so I decided to give it a listen.

Best decision ever.

AM

Up to that point, I had no idea who the Arctic Monkeys were. I’d heard of them, but I had no idea what their songs were or even what music genre they were in. I had no idea what to expect. I have to admit, I was surprised. Pleasantly surprised.

A quick look at Wikipedia tells me that their genre is indie rock,but their music is very different from what my perception of indie rock was. They really emphasise the rock aspect, which is something that I haven’t really been a fan of before. However, I absolutely adore this album.

The songs are amazing, to put it bluntly. Nearly all the songs have this high-pitched harmony with the other band members, while the main singer does the main melody (obviously enough). It works really well, and really adds to all the songs. There’s lots of electric guitar riffs and heavy percussion (compared to what I’m used to, anyway). Everything just blends in perfectly and is a delight for my ears.

Now I’ll focus on the actual songs. I find it impossible to pick out a band song. If there was ever a recommendation on this blog, that’s it. The album opens with “Do I Wanna Know?” and “R U Mine?”, with a distinct upbeat, rock vibe to it. It slows down with “One for the Road” and “No 1 Party Anthem” later on, finishing with the romantic and mesmerising “I Wanna Be Yours”. The album changes quite a bit in parts, but at no point does the quality of the abum drop. It’s really exceptional.

I highly recommend that anyone who likes indie rock checks it out in its entirety, and those that are hesitant to at least listen to the first few songs. This is my favourite album so far this year, and that’s why I’m giving it a…

9/10.

Yes, I know I’ve neglected this blog again. This is my first post since August, which isn’t exactly “a post per month”. Anyway, I’m just going to post when I feel like I’ve something to say. Simple as that. I’ve added a review score this time, for those people who don’t like words. All feedback is much appreciated. Thanks for reading!

One thought on “Review: AM

Leave a Reply

